The University of Saskatchewan Centennial Enhancement Chair Program assists the university in retaining world class faculty with research and scholarship focused within one of the university’s signature areas, who have made significant contributions to their field at a national and international level, and who may be at risk to accept a job offer from another institution.   

The work of a chair is directed toward research and scholarship in one of the following signature areas:

  • Indigenous Peoples: Engagement and Scholarship;
  • Agriculture: Food and Bioproducts for a Sustainable Future;
  • Energy and Mineral Resources: Technology and Public Policy for a Sustainable Environment;
  • One Health: Solutions at the Animal-Human-Environment Interface;
  • Synchrotron Sciences: Innovation in Health, Environment and Advanced Technologies, or
  • Water Security: Stewardship of the World's Freshwater Resources.

Terms of Reference

View the Centennial Enchancement Chair Terms of Reference for more information, including funding, responsibilities and the terms of the chair.

Renewal Process

There is no automatic renewal of a CEC and all requests to renew must undergo an internal peer review before a recommendation to renew or not renew is made to the CRC Oversight Committee, which makes the final decision on the status of a CEC. 

Centennial Enhancement Chair Renewal Request form

Current Centennial Enhancement Chairs

Current Centennial Enhancement Chairs (CEC) as of September 2020:

  • Helen Baulch (School of Environment and Sustainability) - CEC in Aquatic Ecosystem Biogeochemistry 
  • Colleen Dell (Arts and Science) - CEC in One Health and Wellness
  • Kerry McPhedran (Engineering) – CEC in Water Stewardship for Indigenous Communities
  • Grant Ferguson (Engineering) - CEC in Groundwater-Energy-Food Nexus
  • Suraj Unniappan (Western College of Veterinary Medicine) - CEC in Comparative Endocrinology 
  • Gregory Penner (Agriculture and Bioresources) - CEC in Ruminant Nutritional Physiology
  • David Cooper (Medicine) - CEC in Synchrotron Sciences
  • Markus Brinkmann (School of Environment and Sustainability) - CEC in Mechanistic Environmental Toxicology
  • Kathryn McWilliams (Arts and Science) – CEC in Earth Space Weather


For more information about the Centennial Enhancement Chairs Program and renewal process please contact:

Vice-Provost, Faculty Relations