

## Memo

То:	Faculty
From:	Scott Walsworth, Vice-Provost, Faculty Relations
Date:	August 28, 2024
Subject:	New Collective Agreement with the Faculty Association

Greetings faculty (in-scope USFA members)

As you know, the University has negotiated a new collective agreement with the faculty association. It received approval from the Board of Governors and ratification from the Association's membership. It is a four-year agreement covering this past year, the current year and the two to follow, expiring on June 30, 2027. Below I list the members of the University's bargaining committee and also the members of the Association's team led by Dr. Allison Muri from the Department of English; it has become clear to me that all those involved in negotiations care deeply about our university.

While not perfect, I am pleased with the new agreement. Most notably, it creates a new tenure track teaching focused appointment enabling USask to recruit and retain the very best available teachers across the country. The new teaching stream appointment complements the existing teacher-scholar model by promoting teaching excellence and providing educational leadership in the unit. The agreement also contains numerous new provisions to support Indigenous faculty and those engaged in RSAW that benefits Indigenous communities including the provision to have an advocate visit with search, tenure/renewal, and promotion committees. The University's commitment to be among the national leaders in compensation was maintained. You will also note that there are numerous additions (and omissions) that enhance the collegial process with an aim to streamline administrative work while protecting faculty influence.

Attached you will find a document with the highlights of the new agreement. In the coming weeks, my office will continue to work with the Association to produce the text of the new agreement and make it available to faculty. I have scheduled an information session on September 13th at 10:30am to noon in Edwards room 18. Remote access is available.

https://usask-ca.zoom.us/i/93325498735?pwd=Czb0GbW7lOjbw18cV3OSrGSKSQWfiL.1

<u>The Employer's bargaining committee members include</u>: David Stack (co-lead), Dr. Scott Walsworth (co-lead), Ana Crespo Martin, Dean Keith Willoughby, Dean Loleen Berdahl, and Dean Martin Phillipson. The Association's bargaining committee members include: Dr. Allison Muri (lead), Johanne Brassard, Dr. Anas El-Aneed, Dr. Doug Chivers, Courtney Charles, Dr. Heather Foulds, Abbie Kappel, and Dr. Darrell Mousseau.

<u>The Association's bargaining committee members</u> include: Dr. Allison Muri (lead), Johanne Brassard, Dr. Anas El-Aneed, Dr. Doug Chivers, Courtney Charles, Dr. Heather Foulds, Abbie Kappel, and Dr. Darrell Mousseau.

I acknowledge that I live and work on Treaty 6 territory and the homeland of the Métis. We pay our respects to the First Nations and Métis ancestors of this place and reaffirm our relationship with one another.

1#2ttth

Scott Walsworth, PhD Professor of Labour Relations and Vice-Provost, Faculty Relations